ave's hideout

#3 — what i've learnt from making a neocities page so far

hello blog that i havent touched in a week! i am here to Rant about webdev. yippee!

my neocities page is a pet project of mine. i caught wind of neocities in early 2023 from a tumblr post about keeping the old web alive, and that's when i created my very own website. but back then, i was but a wee naive child! (says guy who is writing this barely 5 months later)

so, anyway. i made my page and then proceeded to do nothing with it except place One image and some random text. i did Not know what i was doing. at all.

and so it stayed like that, rotting in its lack of personality or presence, until april. which is now! well, that's a lie. im writing this in the second week of may. but like, i came back to my site literally on the very last day of april, so it's basically the same.

anyway. now that i am Grown, i have come to understand the Amazing Depths of Creation that can be achieved through HTML, CSS and JS! isn't that fantastic?

yippee!

...

haha.

...

i'm joking. webdev is terrible. please save me. like, oh my god, im not even joking - the amount of times i broke my code from forgetting to close a ) or } or > is embarrassing. and my shrine for buddy daddies took me like, a week, unironically. for just the layout!!! and like ok maybe that's because i kept changing it but still!!! i've been learning html and css and js just, like, as i go along. and every time i make something, it's like, i have no fucking clue what the hell i'm doing and i have to search like 20 different questions to get it right. and don't even get me started on mobile compatibility. i am NOT excited to do THAT.

but like, at the same time, it's so satisfying??? like, when i do finally get something to work like it should, it makes me feel Proud. like i've Achieved something. which is like, a really really good feeling. and when i'm not doing webdev, i'm thinking about it. it's properly infested my brain right now, which is so terrible, because it's exam season and i really should be doing anything but this. but it's so much fun, despite the pain and frustration, and i really do enjoy being able to create this digital Thing all by my own.

and it's cool, too, to think about the possibility of showing people what i've made once i'm done. i really want to show my friends my site, but i also don't want them to see all the broken parts just yet, so i'm holding off on it for now. but at the same time, i don't want to be done, because once i'm done, what am i gonna do next? i have no idea. but for now, i'm just going to continue working on this little website, and maybe one day i'll be satisfied enough that i stop messing with the layouts.